the world would be a better place if more people listened to my mother.

My mother is the smartest person I know.  There was a time in my life when I didn’t think she was so smart, and when my worst nightmare was becoming like her.  I was dumb.  In fact there were a few years in my early 20’s when I was a nasty little bitch to my mom.  I am glad I came to my senses, and that she was both compassionate and loving enough to forgive my bullshit.  I was deeply disturbed by the Amanda Todd story, I wanted to write about it, but wasn’t sure where to start, the more I thought of it the more I realized, an afternoon with my mother could have helped that girl.  Now fix her problems?  No, put an end to bullying?  Unfortunately no… but some valuable lessons from my mother made growing up a little less painful.

Lesson #1, People are like eggs.

I was chatting with #13, he had told one of his friends he was dating the girl that ran the liquor store.  His friend asked, “The red head, with big boobs?”  Yeah replied #13.  “A few of the guys have been interested in her, and she just shuts them down.”  I know this is not true, maybe the boys have just talked about asking me out, not one person has asked me on a date while I have been at work, not a single one.  Silly boys… But now #13 has bragging rights I guess.  I don’t ever “shut people down” because people are like eggs.

Have you ever dropped an egg on the floor?  Smashed and splattered, is it easy to pick up?  No, it’s messy, and you never really get all the pieces.  Sometimes the shell is shattered and the yolk is broken.  Now if you take that same egg, and place it on the floor, gently, it may roll around a bit, get dirty, but it is easier to pick up again, even if it suffers a crack here and there, you can still scoop it back up.

People have fragile egos, and feelings like a thin shell.  Some people mature like fine wine, becoming better with age, and you never know what the universe has in store for you.  If someone shows interest in you, and you don’t return the interest, it doesn’t mean you never will, so if you let them down gently, if something changes, you can pick them up again.  Or not… but guaranteed if you just drop them, you will not be able to pick them up again.  And you never know when you’ll need a good egg…

 

 

Leave a Reply

