Demure

I really struggled with what to name this one. Nice guy, employed, not too old, reasonably attractive, He has really pretty blue/green eyes. He just, well, he just, was… plain. No spark. We went for lunch because his schedule is straight graveyards. He has a daughter he rarely gets to see, and has what seems like a run of bad luck, just in general. I am having a really hard time with these men that need to be rescued. I don’t want to. I want someone who is independant,and fun. Dating should be fun. Yes, a relationship is someone who helps you thru your highs and lows, but it’s overwhelming to sign up for that from the first date. I understand the loneliness but sometimes a person needs to bask in it, and get their baggage all organized before they try to go on another trip, (start a new relationship, see, that was a metaphor). Some people just can’t do that. They need a spousal equivalent. I do not. So yeah, a couple hours we chatted, he held my hand for a bit, but it made me uncomfortable. Not in an impish playful way like FU, more like I was being bullied into romance. I’m not good at hiding my feelings about something like that. It was obvious to me that we had near nothing in common by the end of the date, but he has texted a couple times since. I named him Demure because I spent the night at K’s house last night, and it was the word of the day, it kinda fits.

22 dates down…

4 thoughts on “Demure

  1. NolaM says:

    How did you get so danged smart? It’s hard to work as a partner in a relationship if one is using the other as a blankie to hide under. Part of that awareness is your friend’s spouses/partners. They are almost all strong relationship partners aren’t they? Says a lot about your friend’s awesomeness too. You know, I listen to old farts complain about ‘kids today’ and I think of the people you have shared with us over the years. Your generation have gotten your ‘life functional stuff’ together faster than any other generation I think. Backpat.

  2. monkeysmom2 says:

    dating someone excessively needy is like swimming with boots on, yes you still going for a swim and the water will be warm, the clouds beautiful and the scenery great, but there is always that weight dragging you down.. best to surround yourself with people who are striving for the same things as you and are putting the same energy into achieving them. you deserve nothing but the best.

Leave a Reply

